Clean Getaway (Paperback)

Clean Getaway By Nic Stone Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Oct 4 1:19pm
(JUVENILE & YOUNG ADULT PAPERBA)

Winter 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“Stone takes on the ugly realities of the Jim Crow laws, family stories untold, and love so deep and powerful it’ll make you cry through your smile. Mind you, this is also a hilarious book. William ‘Scoob’ Lamar is on lockdown at home by a dad who refuses to hear his side of why he hit that kid at school, so when his G’ma invites him to her brand new mobile home, he’s all in, even leaving his phone behind so he doesn’t have to hear his dad yell. But when G’ma pulls out her ‘treasure box’ and the Traveler’s Green Book, Scoob realizes this trip may be more than he bargained for. Brilliant weaving of historical realities into a funny, heartbreaking coming-of-age. Welcome to middle grade, Nic!”
— Linda Sherman-Nurick, Cellar Door Books, Riverside, CA

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
- Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
- Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.
- Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:
- A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Take a trip through the American South with the New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included.

About the Author


Nic Stone is the author of the New York Times bestseller and William C. Morris finalist Dear Martin and its companion novel Dear Justyce, which looks at the lives of black incarcerated juveniles. She also wrote the teen novels Odd One Out, an NPR Best Book and Rainbow Book List Top Ten and Jackpot, a love-ish story that takes a searing look at economic inequality. Clean Getaway, her middle-grade debut, deals with coming to grips with the pain of the past and the humanity of our heroes. It received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist, who called it "an absolute firecracker of a book."

nicstone.info

Praise For…


Praise for Clean Getaway:

"A road novel that serves in part as a primer on important scenes and themes of the civil-rights movement... [A] poignant caper." —The Wall Street Journal 

"An absolute firecracker of a book." —Booklist, starred review

“A heartwarming, family-centered adventure that will leave readers guessing until the end.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Rich in history, Stone's middle-grade debut entertains and informs young readers....A road trip to remember." —Kirkus Reviews

"Stone has crafted a history lesson in road-trip form....a good addition for school ­libraries seeking unconventional approaches to history.” —School Library Journal


Praise for Dear Martin:

"Powerful, wrenching." —John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

"Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching. A must read!" —Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

"Painfully timely and deeply moving." —Jodi Picoult

"Raw and gripping." —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys
Product Details
ISBN: 9781984893000
ISBN-10: 1984893009
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: January 5th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English

STOCK AVAILABILITY

The online inventory display is updated every 4 hours. If you wish to check the actual in store stock, please call 337-2681 or 1-800-295-BOOK (2665) during store hours.