Thieves of Weirdwood (Hardcover)

Thieves of Weirdwood Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Thieves of Weirdwood series.

Description


Thieves of Weirdwood is the first in William Shivering and Newbery Honor winner Christian McKay Heidicker's brand-new fantasy series—illustrated by Anna Earleyabout two kid thieves who are plunged into a battle between the Real and Imaginary worlds! Action, laughs, and monsters beyond imagining abound!

"[W]ill delight and satiate those besotted with Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Artemis Fowl, Miss Peregrine, the Spiderwicks." —New York Times Book Review


Twelve-year-old thieves Arthur and Wally are determined to steal their way up the ranks of the notorious Black Feathers gang. With loan sharks chasing after Arthur’s father and Wally’s brother’s hospital bill due, they’re in need of serious cash. Fast.

When Arthur spots some wealthy strangers exiting a seemingly deserted mansion, he smells an opportunity for a big score. Little do the boys realize, they’ve stumbled upon Weirdwood Manor, the headquarters of a magical order who protect the Balance between the Real and Imaginary worlds. When Kingsport is besieged by nightmarish creatures, it’s up to a pair of thieves to save their city.

Filled with giant tentacle monsters and heroes literally ripped from the pages of adventure stories, this imagination-bending series is perfect for fans of Keeper of the Lost Cities, Aru Shah, and Nevermoor.

"Startling, original and epic." —Eoin Colfer, creator of Artemis Fowl

"An imaginative, page-turning adventure." —Shannon Messenger, New York Times bestselling author of Keeper of the Lost Cities

About the Author


Christian McKay Heidicker reads and writes and drinks tea. Between his demon-hunting cat and his fiddling, red-headed girlfriend, he feels completely protected from evil spirits. Christian is the author of Scary Stories for Young Foxes, Cure for the Common Universe and Attack of the 50 Foot Wallflower. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Professor William Shivering lives in a house by the sea with three cats and a one-eyed raven named Glinda. When he's not writing true stories about fake worlds, he enjoys walking the cliffs and conversing with the moon. He's the president and founder of CASPR (Coalition for the Appreciation of Shades, Phantasms, and Revenants), a non-profit that provides assistance to disembodied peoples. Professor Shivering has an assistant named Christian McKay Heidicker, though he rarely if ever takes Christian's writing suggestions. Mr. Shivering is rarely cold.

Anna Earley is a Midwestern girl living life with a flair for the fantastic along with a coiled, corn snake companion named Moxy. Ever since childhood she has loved creating whimsical creatures and vibrant worlds and characters. That passion led her down the path to become an illustrator. She believes that art has a unique ability to communicate and tell stories that excite the imagination and speak to the soul. When she isn’t drawing, Anna can be found writing, studying history and mythology, roaming the woods, or listening to an ever-growing collection of music.

Praise For…


"[W]ill delight and satiate those besotted with Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Artemis Fowl, Miss Peregrine, the Spiderwicks." —New York Times Book Review

"With dazzling wit and enough spooky adventure for this and any alternate universe, Thieves of Weirdwood thrills to the last page. Startling, original and epic." —Eoin Colfer, creator of Artemis Fowl

"An imaginative, page-turning adventure filled with chilling creatures and lovable characters that kept me guessing through every twist and turn." —Shannon Messenger, New York Times bestselling author of Keeper of the Lost Cities

"A mysterious magical enchanting tale brimming with creative spirit." —J.C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of The Storm Runner

* "Wally’s friend Breeth, an intrepid, pun-loving child ghost who can occupy any organic item, is just one scene-stealer in the unusually colorful supporting cast." —Booklist, starred review

"With a good dose of comedy, a dash of self-awareness, and some riveting plot twists, this book is unique and hilarious." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This series opener's both funny and well paced, and the worldbuilding is fantastic . . . character development is splendid." —Kirkus

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250302885
ISBN-10: 1250302889
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 352
Series: Thieves of Weirdwood

STOCK AVAILABILITY

Please note that the website database does not necessarily reflect the in store availability. If you wish to check actual in store stock, please call 337-2681 or 1-800-295-BOOK (2665) during store hours.