Play Like a Girl (Paperback)

Play Like a Girl By Misty Wilson, David Wilson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Misty Wilson, David Wilson (Illustrator)
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 1 9:04pm
(GRAPHIC NOVELS/COMPUTERS/JOKES)

Description


Debut author Misty Wilson chronicles her seventh-grade experience as the only girl on her town’s football team in this empowering graphic memoir about teamwork, friendship, crushes, and touchdowns.

Misty never shies away from a challenge, on or off the field. So when the boys tell her she can’t play football, there’s only one thing to do: join their team and show them what she’s got.

But the training is rougher than she thought—and so are the other guys, who aren’t thrilled about having a girl on their team.

Middle school isn’t so easy, either. Misty wants to fit in with the popular kids, but they think a girl playing football is “weird.” Even her best friend doesn’t get it.

Can Misty find a way to score points with her teammates, make new friends, and show everyone—including herself—what it means to play like a girl?

“I am a huge fan of Misty and her courageous journey of staying true to herself. Readers will love her!” —Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series

“This is the book I wish I’d had as a kid. Misty’s passion for football and her fight to play in a male-dominated sport while balancing friendship and crushes makes for a winning read!” —Dr. Jen Welter, first female NFL coach, first female running back in men’s pro football, and founder of Grrridiron Girls

Praise For…


"Supported by David Wilson’s expressive and detailed artwork (especially in his well-choreographed scenes of football plays), Misty’s Play like a Girl will be a welcome choice for readers looking for graphic novels that defy and challenge traditional gender stereotypes." — Booklist (starred review)

“[T]he book does an excellent job of folding the football story line (including plenty of play-by-play game-time action) into that of Misty’s life struggles. Readers will cheer as Misty eventually makes new, true friends; wins the acceptance of (most of) her football teammates; begins to take on a more responsible role in her family; and comes to an empowering conclusion: ‘I knew one thing for sure: I was done trying to be someone else.’” — The Horn Book

"Seventh grader Misty tackles middle school politics in a heartening graphic memoir. Expressive and brightly colored art, reminiscent of Raina Telgemeier’s, deftly captures early 2000s fashion and complicated football plays. Misty’s busy blended family’s dynamics are refreshing, and conversations surrounding social exclusion are sensitively rendered in this cathartic story of sports and identity." — Publishers Weekly

“Middle school drama hits hard in this coming-of-age graphic memoir… [that] will appeal to fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale. A sincere, genuine, and uplifting book that affirms the importance of being true to yourself.” — Kirkus Reviews

“I am a huge fan of Misty and her courageous journey of staying true to herself. Readers will love her!” — Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series

“This is the book I wish I’d had as a kid. Misty’s passion for football and her fight to play in a male-dominated sport while balancing friendship and crushes makes for a winning read!” — Dr. Jen Welter, first female NFL coach, first female running back in men’s pro football, and founder of Grrridiron Girls

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063064683
ISBN-10: 0063064685
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: September 27th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English

STOCK AVAILABILITY

The online inventory display is updated every 4 hours. If you wish to check the actual in store stock, please call 337-2681 or 1-800-295-BOOK (2665) during store hours.